The Forces Are at Work

Standard
The Force

The Force

During the heyday of my college years, when my rebellion against the norm was at its peak, I stumbled upon a book called the Celestine Prophecy, by James Redfield. Among its somewhat flighty doctrines of reading and interacting with people’s energies and over-the-top spiritual enlightenment, one point that sunk in and has resonated after all of these years was the book’s theme of “everything happens for a reason”. Redfield doesn’t believe that we lead our lives by blind chance, but that we choose our path without even knowing it; unless of course you pay close enough attention to all of the seemingly coincidental happenings. Only then will you start to figure out your life’s purpose at a deeper level.

OK, so I know it sounds like I just came from one of Deepak Chopra’s mind-body healing sessions, but recently, certain forces seem to be at work in my life and career that have reminded me of Redfield’s canon to pay attention to the “non-coincidences”. Take last weekend, for example. My wife and I decided to take a mini-vacation to the beach in Long Branch, NJ to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. Of all the spots on the open beach that day, we settled in next to this one couple.  We started talking casually with them and came to find out that the husband owns his own business baby-proofing people homes: Home Safe Home. As it turns out, his business is growing, but he doesn’t know how to harness the power of the internet. He asked, “what is this tweeter thing?” I realized immediately, there is an immense gap in understanding of the web that exists today and how a good chunk of business owners out there are using it, or more importantly, not using it.

OK, mid-paragraph, he just called me and wants to “know what I charge”! Swear. For one, I don’t do this for a living. I’ve just been involved in IT for that last 10+ years and do enough reading to hold a fairly open dialogue about how you can take advantage of internet-related resources out there to grow your business. Two, who would have thought that I know enough to charge someone? My thoughts? … I think I’ll help him out for free, fumble along the way as I learn what customers need and want out of internet marketing and when I’m truly helping companies reach their goals, it will only be natural for me to ask for compensation.

In the meantime, I think it’s time I invest some energy here …

Leave a Reply

